January Dock-u-mentaries presents Steamboat Willie and Steamboat Bill, Jr.

New Bedford, Mass. — The Dock-U-Mentaries Film Series continues on Friday, January 18th at 7:00 p.m. with two lighthearted movies:  Steamboat Bill, Jr. and Steamboat Willie.   The films will be shown at the New Bedford National Historical Park theater located at 33 William Street. Admission is free.

Steamboat Willie was released in 1928 and is considered the debut of Mickey Mouse. It was also the first Disney movie with synchronized sound.

Steamboat Bill, Jr. was also released in 1928 as a silent film. It features the most famous of Buster Keaton’s film stunts! With the soundtrack provided by local musician, Jeff Angeley, this screening will leave you laughing!

Jeff Angeley is a multi-instrumentalist, music instructor, and event organizer based in New Bedford. He has 20 years of teaching experience and an even longer track record of putting together high quality acoustic music performances. Angeley has a particular passion for traditional music and its ability to bring communities together. His fiddle, banjo, mandolin, guitar, & upright bass performances, as well as his singing and dance calling continue to bring greater exposure to traditional American performing art forms. In the last few years he founded “Old Time Fiddle Session & Community Gathering,” a group which hosts large quarterly events, traditional music and dance workshops, and free monthly community jams and gatherings. Using his abilities as an instructor, combined with his passion for social music and deep experience as a performer, he has built and continues to foster a thriving community of traditional musicians in the Greater New Bedford area.

Dock-U-Mentaries is a co-production of New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park and the New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center.  Films about the working waterfront are screened on the third Friday of each month beginning at 7:00 PM in the theater of the Corson Maritime Learning Center, located at 33 William Street in downtown New Bedford. All programs are open to the public and presented free of charge.

The New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center, located at 38 Bethel Street, is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and presenting the history and culture of New Bedford’s fishing industry through exhibits, programs, and archives.

New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park was established by Congress in 1996 to help preserve and interpret America’s nineteenth century whaling industry.  The park, which encompasses a 13-block National Historic Landmark District, is the only National Park Service area addressing the history of the whaling industry and its influence on the economic, social, and environmental history of the United States.  The National Park visitor center is located at 33 William Street in downtown New Bedford. It is open seven days a week, from 9 AM-5 PM, and offers information, exhibits, and a free orientation movie every hour on the hour from 10 AM-4 PM.  The visitor center is wheelchair-accessible, and is free of charge.  For more information, call the visitor center at 508-996-4095, go to www.nps.gov/nebe or visit the park’s Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/NBWNHP. Everyone finds their park in a different way. Discover yours at FindYourPark.com

www.nps.gov

About the National Park Service. More than 20,000 National Park Service employees care for America’s 407 national parks and work with communities across the nation to help preserve local history and create close-to-home recreational opportunities. Visit us at www.nps.gov, on Facebook www.facebook.com/nationalparkservice, Twitter www.twitter.com/natlparkservice, and YouTube www.youtube.com/nationalparkservice.